Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:32 p.m. - 2004-12-09
Bumping my Grade up
History has long been accused of stubbornly maintaining relentlessly cyclical behavior, continuously returning to prior incidents as inspiration for new events in such a persistent manner the superstitious are often wont to consider the concept of passing time a nearly sentient entity. The idea that the past controls the future eventually mutated into the idea of destiny, thereby stripping In this way controls destiny. Most potent form of destiny is inherited past, or that which, like genetic inclinations, exist at birth and shape future by distribution of certain gifts/flaws or event/history beyond control like slavery/drug use. Ordinary gifts could include wealth, inherited talents, ect; flaws disease, deformities, weakness to addiction. World of Morrison, such fantastic feats as ability to fly.
Flying common dream; expression of freedom and escape. So desirable spawn numerous songs and catch-phrases: �fly the coop�, �fly by the seat of pants�, songs, but only by use of machinery can man actually take flight. Only in mystical realm woven by Morrison is Milkman capable of realizing flight as literal manifestation as well as symbolic reference to freedom.
Inherited past equals history you�re born with, the one that grabs you by the short hairs before you�re even old enough to make decisions on your own to screw up your life with. It�s liberating, in a way, knowing that your parents� mistakes can royally screw your entire future over before you can even drag your slimy, wrinkled body from your mother�s convulsing womb. How�s THAT for pretty mental images, people? So basically, this novel is sorta about that�how the ancestors of this one dude, Macon �Milkman� Dead, affected his life by their choices before his birth. How�d they do that, you ask? More importantly�what choices should I make so that I, too, can ruin my unborn children�s lives? See, they aren�t conceived, and I haven�t even met their daddies, but I�ve already got their names and booty colors all picked out, so I might as well be doubly prepared to be an all-star mommy and get this junk down, too. Well, shorty, to make a long story short�..MM�s family used to be slaves, a fact that was out of their control as well as his. Blame THAT one on the honkies. This affects MM by�well, actually, it doesn�t affect Milkman. He�s got it better than me, and MY family weren�t never no slaves to nothin but facism. Ok�.what else? Well, see now, his great grand-daddy just happened to know how to fly, and that doesn�t really affect him, either, not until the very end, where he probably dies anyway, so what good did that do him? In short, shorty, I have no idea�if I did, do you think I�d still be here right now???????

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!