Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:15 a.m. - 2003-03-23
~*~*The Fading of the Rose*~*~
SCENE: Field of dandelions. Several gerbils of all sizes and colors are seen romping about; many black. Savage Garden's "I Don't Know You Anymore" is heard. Inexplicably, a toilet paper roll is sticking out of the ground. ROSE pops out.

ROSE: "Oh! How lovely! I'd always heard it would be beautiful here, but I never even imagined..." ::is cut off by appearance of a pair of young males identical to her; one is missing most of his tail::

PROZAK: "Mom! I didn't know you were coming today!"

JETHUSLAPHAT: "Hiya, Ma, how's it going?"

ROSE: "Boys! Jethy, your tail!! I thought you could get that fixed here?"

JETHUSLAPHAT {sheepishly}: "Aw, well, I was gonna, but I kinda like it...it's the only way I can make sure Ambrosia doesn't 'accidentally' get me mixed up with that shabby excuse for a rodent." {last is affectionately directed towards brother}

PROZAK: "As if I'd have anything to do with that weak-eyed female. As for being shabby, YOU'RE the one that more resembles a stinking hamster than a gerbil."

ROSE: "Oh, boys, stop your bickering and let me smell your scent patch; it's been so long....where is your father?"

PROZAK: "He's around...he's more than likely in the pumpkin patch. You know how fond he is of pumpkin seeds."

LifeHouse's "Somewhere in Between" begins. Enter SEAMUS. Sees ROSE and stops in amazement, then lopes toward her in ecstacy. The two reunite joyfully.

:'-)

SEAMUS: "What took you so long?! I've been waiting and waiting..."

ROSE: "Well, I went to stay with The Girl for a little while...I hated to go so soon; she would have been devastated."

SEAMUS: "Since when have YOU ever been so thoughtful? I thought all you cared about was toilet paper rolls."

ROSE: "I don't only care about toilet paper rolls!! She had lots of peanuts as well."

SEAMUS: "Peanuts?! You kept me waiting here for you all this time for a couple of measly GOOBERS?!"

ROSE: "It wasn't THAT long, and they were quite good; not salty at all. And besides..it seems that you have plenty of company."

SEAMUS {sadly}: "Yes..several of our grandchildren preceded you here. They are beautiful, though; wait till you meet them!"

ROSE: "As if I haven't seen enough grandchildren to last me seven lifetimes! Really, boys, couldn't you have been a bit more economical? Your father and I were always so careful about planning our families."

JETHUSLAPHAT: "Girls are pretty."

PROZAK {glancing pointedly at the remains of JETHUSLAPHAT's tail}: "Better watch who you say that to...Amphetamine certainly wasn't happy with you telling HER that. Not that I blame her."

ROSE: "Never mind that now, boys. Why don't you give me a tour...there ARE plenty of peanuts around here, right?"

JETHUSLAPHAT: "Are you kidding?! There's a huge dish shaped like that big creepy peanut guy the animals in the Blinky Box are always making such a big deal out of."

ROSE: "Oh, goody! Lots of nuts, and the added bonus of a dish to knock over and chew on, and perhaps potty on as well. Lead the way, boys."

{PROZAK and JETHUSLAPHAT streak off in the direction of the nut bowl; SEAMUS and ROSE dawdle behind}

SEAMUS {nuzzling ROSE}: "I have missed you. Tell me, what mischief have you been weaving? I know that look in your eye."

ROSE {chuckles}: "Oh..not *nearly* as much as that little tart Amphetamine..what Prozak ever saw in her I'll never know. However..when The Girl and Girl who Squeals Over Canines left for a week, I took the liberty of snacking on the phone book."

SEAMUS: "The phone book?! Rose!"

ROSE: "Oh, I didn't completely demolish it...besides, I only wanted to order a pizza. I went back to my Box every night. The Girl was so shocked when she came back and discovered it.." {reflects a moment) "Honestly, I did feel rather guilty about it. The Girl was so worried about me while she was gone."

{pause}

SEAMUS: "...is she okay, do you think? I saw how upset she was after I came here."

ROSE: "Oh...I know it hurt her, but I simply couldn't wait any longer. I had to come and be with you. I waited until she came back, though, before I left...I wanted to say good-bye. The silly little fool tried to make me feel better by introducing me to one of the New Ones. I think she knew, though. It was hard...but she knew it was my time. It was easier for her, knowing you were here waiting for me."

SEAMUS: "We can go see her anytime, you know. In fact, after I introduce you to some of my old Boxmates, we should pop in and check up on her."

ROSE: "That sounds just lovely; let's. But first...I'm just dying to see this gargantuan peanut bowl the boys were raving about."

{exit SEAMUS and ROSE}

~*~*~*~*~Sterling Silver Rose~*~*~*~*~*~

...March 29th, 2001-March 22nd, 2003...

*^*^*^Dedicated to all in the Tribe who have gone in the past, and those who will go in the future. You will NEVER be forgotton.^*^*^*

----Inspired by KimIckle. Without you,

i probly would have fallen apart worse than I did anyway. Thank you for being there.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!