Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:38 a.m. - 2008-05-01
Music + Lyrics
One of my latest favorite things is to taunt myspace with hints of words that I feel it's not good enough to receive. Why this loyalty to an obscure little website that lacks all the glittery bells and whistles sported by the big webguns, anyway? I've been thinking that it might be time to let Gashes go. After all, the part of my life that Gashes supposedly reflects is supposedly over; in theory, then, perhaps Gashes itself should be retired. I had intended on May being its final bow, but now May is here, although just barely...and I have yet to close the doors after all...actually, come to think of it....dear God. I have unintentionally spelled all this out on the exact six year anniversary of my advent here in d'land. I guess, deep down, I will always be Gashes, at least just a little.

So anyway, enough of that drivel. Here's my latest pondering: I've decided that I hate music a little, because it lies. I came to this conclusion after seeing a band fronted by none other than he who is formerly known as the Maggot himself...and yes, letting go of Gashes also means letting go of petty nicknames, hence the "formerly known." I was watching him sing, and as I did, it occurred to me that though he may have written the songs, he didn't experience them. And somehow or another, I guess I'd always felt that music was a reflection of something real, which was why I could pour myself into it: someone else had already had the feelings I was experiencing, so I wasn't crazy; the way I thought was valid. And though I'm sure that's still sort of the case, the fact that the singer or songwriter doesn't necessarily have any idea of what the crap they're talking about hurts a little. The story they're telling is just a fantasy to them, a part they're playing in some tawdry lyrical soap opera....

This doesn't make nearly as much sense now as it did when I was thinking it.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!