Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:04 p.m. - 2013-06-21
Sick Cycle Carousel
Well, you can't live life without SOME emotional roller coasters along the way, but, for me right now, it's all just standard, "what the crap did I grow up for??" junk. Being an adult is HARD. You work and work, and at the end of the day, you don't have energy for the things you really want to do, and you don't have money for anything fun because you went to college to get the job that isn't really cutting it in the first place. One step forward, four or five back. It's a vicious cycle. But I guess I should be grateful to be involved in the cycle at all...

My family is...about the same, but not? The oldest brother got married a few years ago; I just found out they're having a baby. Hard to believe I'm going to be an aunt; though I suppose I'll probably barely see the kid. The grandmother and I reconciled, briefly, but are back to our more comfortable terms now. My mom and her husband are still as they always were...

As for my dad's side, his wife left him a few years ago; this came as something as a shock to me as I found out when she told me she was dating someone she'd met online. Interesting hearing that the person you think is still your stepmother is dating someone that isn't your father. But as it turns out, they had been divorced for quite a while at that time. He, and the youngest brother, moved back up North, but Thomas came back. Then my dad had a stroke. We still communicate the best we can...but he will never be the same again.

Anyway. Thanks for asking about them. And thanks for the message from your mom. She is a good lady, although we did have our differences. How is the rugrat? It looks like she's grown like a weed (but a good weed! Not like one of those nasty thorny things. :-) )

I know my friends weren't -- aren't -- always easy. They...or some of them...can be very clique-y, and I know that they felt a sort of possessiveness over me that made things harder on you. Not excusing how that day ultimately turned out, but I can definitely sympathize with feeling insecure around the friends of a significant other. That was sort of the basis of the camping trip fiasco.

So...tomorrow is the big day, unless you have elected to bail out. I hope you haven't; it sounds like a good opportunity to gain some of the closure that you probably need. If she hasn't objected to your coming along, it would seem that she is willing to maybe talk about things...and that is good, even if what she says doesn't turn out to be what you might want to hear. It will at least have turned out to be some form of clarification, one way or another. Either way, good luck...I hope it does go well.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!